NEET Eligibility Criteria: Age Limit, Qualification, Marks Required

NEET Eligibility Criteria: NEET i.e. National Eligibility Cum Entrance Test is one of the most-awaited and popular exams in India. Lakhs of medical aspirants every year appear in this exam with hope and great aspirations. NEET 2021 likely to be conducted in May 2021. However, official exam dates are yet to be released. Those who wish to apply must go through the NEET Eligibility Criteria and other related details before filling the application forms.

NTA is a the competent authority that conducts NEET exam every year to select the eligible candidates for admission to MBBS/BDS and other UG medical courses offered by various Govt/Private medical and dental colleges in India.

NEET Eligibility Criteria 2021

Once the application forms are released, candidates who anxiously wait for the release of the notification and application can apply. Before applying for NEET exam, prospective candidates must ensure that they fulfil the eligibility requirements prescribed by the authority concerned.

If you are wondering about the NEET eligibility criteria then you are on the right page. Moving ahead in this article, you will find all the information about the eligibility requirements to appear in NEET exam which include, age criteria, nationality, educational qualification, marks required etc. details.  

NEET Eligibility Criteria

NEET 2021- Quick Overview

Name of the examNEET
Article categoryEligibility Criteria
Examination AuthorityNational Testing Agency (NTA)
Application StatusActive Soon
Mode of examinationOffline
No. of Attempts No restrictions
NEET NTA website

NEET 2021 Important Dates

EventsImportant Dates
Application datesTo be announced
Date of issue of admit cardTo be announced
Date of examExpected in May 2021
Declaration of ResultTo be announced

What are the Eligibility Criteria for NEET?

Eligibility is an important factor to be checked before applying a exam. The complete information about NEET eligibility criteria is provided in the official bulletin of NEET released every year at the time of release of the NEET Application Form. NEET aspirants can also check the same here in this section.

Nationality Criteria

  • Indian Nations, Non Resident Indians (NRIs), Overseas Citizen of India (OCI), Foreign Nationals and Persons with Indian Origin (PIO) are eligible for NEET and admission in Indian Medical Colleges.

Age Criteria

  • Applicants who have completed the age of 17 years or will complete it before 31st December 2021.
  • The maximum age limit is 25 years. A relaxation of 5 years in upper age limit of SC/ST/OBC-NCL category and PwD candidates.

Category-wise Age Criteria-

Category Cut of date for DOB
General (UR)/General-EWSBorn on or before 31st December 2004
SC/ST/OBC-NCL/PwD CategoryBorn on or before 31st December 2004

Educational Qualification Criteria

  • Applicants must have passed class 12th examination from a recognized board with minimum 50% aggregate marks in subjects- Physics, Chemistry & Biology/Bio-technology. They must have secured passing marks individually in PCB and English.
  • Candidates who have passed qualifying exam as a private student or from Open Board are not eligible for NEET.

Check the qualifying exam criteria (qualification code-wise) shared below in detail-

Qualification Code

02Below class X
03Class X (10th) and class XII (12th)
04Diploma in Engineering
05Graduate – BA/BSc/BCom/BCA
06Engineering Graduate – BE/BTech/BSc(Engg)
08Law Graduate – LLB
09Post graduate – MA/MSc/MCom/MCA
10Engineering Post Graduate – MTech/MSc(Tech)/ ME
11Medical Post Graduate – MD/MS/MVSc
12Law Post Graduate – LLM

Code 1



Code- 2



Code – 3


Code- 4



Code- 5


Code- 6


Code- 7


Number of Attempts

A candidate can now (after 2018 amendment) appear in NEET examination as many as times provided, he/she must fulfil all the eligibility requirements. As of now, there is no restriction on the number of attempts in NEET.

Important Links

NEET portal Click Here
NEET 2021 Application Check Now
NEET 2021 Admit Card Check Now
NEET 2021 Preparation Check Now


What is the date of NEET 2021 exam?

NEET 2021 is expected to held in May 2021. Official date along with the notification and application forms are yet to be released.

Are the students who have completed class 12th exam from Open Board eligible for NEET?

No, candidates who have passed plus two

Who decides the eligibility criteria for NEET ?

NEET eligibility criteria for aspiring candidates for admission to UG medical programs is specified by NTA.

Is there any restriction on the number of NEET attempts by a candidate?

No, there is no restriction on the number of NEET attempts. If candidates fulfill the eligibility criteria they can apply as many as times.

If a candidate has passed the qualifying exam from Open Board, is he/she eligible to apply for NEET?

No, such candidates are not eligible to apply for NEET exam. Any update related to the same matter shall be updated in this article.

Where to check NEET eligibility criteria?

NEET eligible criteria in detail has been shared in this article, and if you wish you can refer the official bulletin of NEET published by NTA.

What is the age limit for appearing in NEET?

Candidates should be of age between 17 years (minimum) and 25 years (maximum) as on 31st December of the year of admission.

Leave a Comment